Produce that is or is not covered under the FSMA Produce Safety Rule

Find out which produce is covered or not covered under the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) - Produce Safety Rule.
Produce that is or is not covered under the FSMA Produce Safety Rule - Articles


Enforcement of the Produce Safety Rule under the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) is limited to fruits, vegetables, mushrooms, and sprouts that are “likely to be eaten raw”. FDA considers produce that is likely to be cooked by the consumer before eating to be less of a potential hazard to consumers, and thus excluded it from the regulation.

Produce that is covered

FDA has provided a non-exhaustive list of produce likely to be eaten raw, and thus is covered under the Produce Safety Rule. FDA may add additional items to this category. This current list includes:

Almonds, apples, apricots, apriums, Artichokes-globe-type, Asian pears, avocados, babacos, bananas, Belgian endive, blackberries, blueberries, boysenberries, brazil nuts, broad beans, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, burdock, cabbages, Chinese cabbages (Bok Choy, mustard, and Napa), cantaloupes, carambolas, carrots, cauliflower, celeriac, celery, chayote fruit, cherries (sweet), chestnuts, chicory (roots and tops), citrus (such as clementine, grapefruit, lemons, limes, mandarin, oranges, tangerines, tangors, and uniq fruit), cowpea beans, cress-garden, cucumbers, curly endive, currants, dandelion leaves, fennel-Florence, garlic, genip, gooseberries, grapes, green beans, guavas, herbs (such as basil, chives, cilantro, oregano, and parsley), honeydew, huckleberries, Jerusalem artichokes, kale, kiwifruit, kohlrabi, kumquats, leek, lettuce, lychees, macadamia nuts, mangos, other melons (such as Canary, Crenshaw and Persian), mulberries, mushrooms, mustard greens, nectarines, onions, papayas, parsnips, passion fruit, peaches, pears, peas, peas-pigeon, peppers (such as bell and hot), pine nuts, pineapples, plantains, plums, plumcots, quince, radishes, raspberries, rhubarb, rutabagas, scallions, shallots, snow peas, soursop, spinach, sprouts (such as alfalfa and mung bean), strawberries, summer squash (such as patty pan, yellow and zucchini), sweetsop, Swiss chard, taro, tomatoes, turmeric, turnips (roots and tops), walnuts, watercress, watermelons, and yams.

Produce that is not covered

FDA has also established an exhaustive list of produce that is “rarely consumed raw” and thus is not covered under the Produce Safety Rule. FDA will not be adding items to this list, which consists of the following.

Asparagus; beans, black; beans, great Northern; beans, kidney; beans, lima; beans, navy; beans, pinto; beets, garden (roots and tops); beets, sugar; cashews; cherries, sour; chickpeas; cocoa beans; coffee beans; collards; corn, sweet; cranberries; dates; dill (seeds and weed); eggplants; figs; ginger; hazelnuts; horseradish; lentils; okra; peanuts; pecans; peppermint; potatoes; pumpkins; squash, winter; sweet potatoes; and water chestnuts.

FDA's Produce Safety Rule Website

More information about the Produce Safety Rule, including a current list of covered produce can be found on FDA's website.