PACAA Has Long History of Recognizing Efforts Within Agricultural Community

The Pennsylvania Association of County Agricultural Agents has long recognized individuals who have befriended the agricultural community through career efforts beyond Cooperative Extension since 1960. Here is a historical look at those individuals that have demonstrated consistent support or extraordinary effort for Pennsylvania agriculture.

PACAA During the annual two-day meeting of the Pennsylvania Association of County Agricultural Agents (PACAA) on November 16-17, Paul W. Semmel was presented with the Honorary County Agent Award.  This organization has a long history in recognizing those individuals that are big and active supporters of agriculture in Pennsylvania.  Below are other recipients throughout the years.


Honorary County Agents


1960          Dr. Eric Walker

1961          Dr. Herbert R. Albrecht & Dr. Norman F. Reber

1962          Carroll Streeter

1964          J. Lewis Williams

1967          Dr. Russell E. Larson

1968          John Hope Anderson

1969          John Scott

1970          Albert Madigan & Murray C. McJunkin

1973          J Lin Huber

1974          John M. Phillips

1975          Kent Shelhamer and David J. Yoder

1977          Dr. John Oswald & Clyde S. Robinson

1979          Reno H. Thomas

1980          Rolland Herring

1981          Bob Williams

1982          Gary Geers

1983          William Schaefer

1984          Obie Snider

1985          Richard Hann

1987          Mary Grim

1988          Arthur Nesbitt

1989          Dieter Krieg

1990          Keith Eckel

1991          Samuel Hayes Jr.

1992          Roger Madigan

1993          Everett Newswanger

1995          Hatfield Quality Meats (The Clemens Family)

1996          N. Alan Bair

1997          Sheila Miller

1998          Harry Roth

1999          Samuel Minor

2000          Charles Brosius

2001          George Freeman

2002          Carl T. Shaffer

2003          John O’Brian

2004          Fred Fiester

2005          Charles Itle

2006          Bob Trax, Sr.

2007          Dr. James E. Diamond

2008          Walt Peechatka

2009          None

2010          Richard Kreider & Russell Redding

2011          Paul W. Semmel